Outreachy Blog #1 - A Journey Begins

Outreachy Blog #1 - A Journey Begins

New beginnings often unfold with anticipation, resilience, and the promise of growth. This is the first week of my Outreachy internship and I am reminded of the words of Carl Bard: 'Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.' This statement summarizes the essence of going on a life-changing journey, where each step forward is an embrace of uncertainty and an acknowledgment that profound changes often begin with subtle shifts.

I am Goodness Chris-Ugari, a DevOps Engineer and Technical Writer, currently an Outreachy intern (December 2023 to March 2024 Outreachy internship round) selected for the "Update and Improve ODK-X Documentation for New Release" project. Over the next 12 weeks, I'll hone my skills, learn, and collaborate with mentors and the ODK-X community to achieve project goals.

In my professional and personal journey, three guiding values stand out: Determination, Continuous Learning, and Meaningful Work. Determination fuels my resilience against challenges; continuous learning empowers me to seize opportunities and acquire diverse skills, while the pursuit of meaningful work leads me to places where my contributions are valued.

Taking my place in the ODK-X community, I recognize that every merged pull request, every faced challenge, and every celebrated triumph contributes to my professional and personal development. I am grateful for the opportunity to join Outreachy's collective narrative championing diversity, innovation, and collaborative potential.

So, here I am fueled by curiosity, guided by values, and ready to script the next chapter of my journey one contribution at a time.