Challenges Faced in My Tech Journey

Challenges Faced in My Tech Journey

ยท

4 min read

Introduction

There isn't a path worth exploring that isn't without it's fair share of challenges, the same is true for the world of tech. In this article I highlight and talk about the problems I faced or I am currently facing in trying to build a career in tech.

Laptop

I currently use a HP laptop with 4GB RAM and a core i3 processor. I've had this laptop for a few years now and as much as I am grateful to have a laptop to use in coding, it can be frustrating using this laptop. My laptop is incredibly slow which can be discouraging most times, I've had to change the battery twice already but the last one bad already and so I can only use my laptop when there's power supply (Does this make it a desktop ๐Ÿ˜‚). The lack of a good quality laptop has affected my progress a lot but I'm saving towards getting a better and hopefully soon I do.

Power Supply

If you live in Nigeria like I do, you would know that power supply is a major issue here. The lack of adequate power supply coupled with a bad laptop steals a lot of quality time I could put in to my development. Still trying to make the maximum use of the time I get power, it's hard but it's better than not getting any at all.

Impostor Syndrome

Impostor Syndrome is something I struggled with and is still struggling with. Often times I get the feeling that I am not qualified to apply for some job or that I do not know enough to talk about something or build something with a skills I've learnt.

The feeling of being an impostor often comes when I have to google something because I forgot how to perform some basic function, this often keeps me in a loop of tutorials trying to learn more and get better at some skill before actually doing something with it.

Right now I am trying to get over this by doing as much as I can with what I already know with the thought that I have to start somewhere and coming across experts who say they get this feeling once in while has helped me a lot, knowing that I am not alone, that it is okay to know everything and that what matters is knowing how to get answers or ask questions when you are faced with a difficulty.

via GIPHY

Conclusion

I've realised that these few challenges highlighted and more are not common to me alone and I've decided to keep pushing and making the best of what I've got to get to where I want in my tech career. If you are reading this and facing similar challenges, I want to encourage you to keep going, celebrate your small wins and you'll see that someday your efforts will pay off.

Resources

Article cover created by freepik - www.freepik.com

ย